Math Connects 2nd Chapter 4

Chapter 4- Organize and Use Data Summary 4-1 Take a Survey:  I can use tally marks in a survey.  I can use and compare data. Vocabulary:  Survey:  collect data by asking people the same questions.  Tally marks: a mark used to record data collected in a survey.  Data:  information collected from a survey or experiment. 4-2 Picture Graphs:  I can make, read, and use data in a picture graph.

picture graph...click to enlarge and solve!

picture graph…click to enlarge and solve!

Vocabulary:  Picture graph:  a graph that has different pictures to show information collected.  Symbol:  something that stands for something else.  Example + is the symbol for addition.  Key:  tells what or how many each symbol stand for.

4-3 Analyze Picture Graphs:  I can draw conclusions and analyze questions based on picture graphs.

4-4 PSS: Make a Table:  I can use the make a table strategy to solve problems.

4-5 Bar Graphs:  I can make, read, and use data in a bar graph.

Vocabulary:  Bar graph:  a graph that uses bars to show data.

4-6 Analyze Bar Graphs:  I can draw conclusions and answer questions based on bar graphs.

4-7 Describe Events:  I can describe events as more likely or less likely to occur.

Bar graph--click and solve.  Which pet do the children like most?

Bar graph–click and solve.
Which pet do the children like most?

Vocabulary:  More likely:  an event that will probably happen.  Less likely:  an event that will probably not happen.

4-8 PSS:  Choose a Strategy:  I can choose the best strategy to solve problems.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *