Math Connects Chapter 7

Chapter 7- Determine the Value of Money

Summary

Coins7-1 Pennies, Nickels, and Dimes:  I can skip count to find the value of a group of coins.

Vocabulary:  Cent:  $0.01, 1¢, or 1 penny.  Penny: one cent, $0.01, or 1¢.   Nickel:  $0.05, 5 cents, or 5¢. Dime:  $0.10 or 1¢, or 10 cents.

7-2 Quarters and Half-Dollars:  I can identify a quarter and half-dollar; skip count to find the value of a group of coins.

Vocabulary:  Quarter:  $0.25, 25¢, or 25 cents.  Half-dollar: $0.50, 50¢, or 50 cents.

7-3 Count Coins:  I can skip count to find the value of a group of coins.

7-4 PSS: Act It Out:  I can use act it out as a strategy to solve problems.

7-5 Dollar:  I can identify coin combinations that equal to one dollar.

Vocabulary:  Dollar:  $1.00, 100¢, or 100 cents.  Dollar sign: a mark to indicate money ($).  Decimal point:  a point used in a number.  Example:  $2.95

7-6 Add Money:  I can add money amounts.

7-7 Check Money:  I can subtract money amounts.

6-8 PSS:  Choose a Strategy:  I can choose the best strategy to solve problems.

6-9 Estimate Differences:  I can estimate differences by rounding to the nearest tens.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *