Math Connects Chapter 9

Chapter 9- Model Fractions

Summary

9-1 Unit Fractions:  I can identify equal parts of a whole from ½  to 1/12 .

Vocabulary:  Fraction:  a name for equal parts of a whole.  Equal parts: pieces that are the same size.   Whole:  a complete shape. Unit fraction: a fraction with 1 as the numerator (on top J).

fractions

This shows wholes and unit fractions. 4/4= 1 whole.
1/5 is not colored in, that is a unit fraction.

9-2 Other Fractions:  I can identify and name fractions with more than one equal part.

9-3 PSS: Draw a Picture:  I can use draw a picture as a strategy to solve problems.

9-4 Fractions Equal to 1:  I can identify fractions that show one whole.

9-5 Compare Fractions:  I can compare unit fractions using symbols.

9-6 Unit Fractions of a Group:  I can identify and write fractions that represent part of a group or set.

Vocabulary: Group:  A gathering of objects or living things.

9-7 Other Fractions of a Group:  I can identify and name fractions with more than one equal part of a group or set.

9-8 PSS:  Choose a Strategy:  I can choose the best strategy to solve problems.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *